Explore Our Dental Marketing Services
Long gone are the days of simply putting a website on the internet, sitting back, sipping mai tai’s and acquiring new patients. An effective dental marketing strategy involves an integrated solution of dental marketing services, including dental social media marketing, dental websites, dental SEO, and a stellar reputation management. An integrated digital dental marketing plan is inexpensive compared to traditional marketing. When executed with an efficient and experienced team a dental practice will attract new patients, improve reputation, expand the online footprint, retain patients year over year, increase case acceptance, and save valuable marketing dollars.
Dental Social Media Marketing
How well does your dental practice shine online? Social media marketing is essential to new patient referrals, branding your practice, retaining patients, and ranking on organic search. This complimentary social media self-assessment will provide you with suggestions on how to improve your overall social media digital marketing strategy. It focuses on your current social media strategy and makes targeted suggestions on how to improve.
Dental Social Media Marketing Blog Posts
- Eye-Opening Reasons Why Dentists Need Social Media Marketing
- Dental Office Social Media: 3 Simple Steps To Attract New Patients
- Social Media for Dental Offices: The Secret Weapon
- Facebook Boosting For Dentists: Frequently Asked Questions
- TikTok and Instagram Reels: The Future Of Dental Video Marketing
- Smart Social Media For Dentists in 2021
- 3 Powerful Assets To Supercharge Your Dental Social Media Marketing
SEO for dentists is the process of optimizing your online presence so that you can be found online when a potential patient searches for a dentist in your area. There are generally three ways to be found, Google Ads, Google Maps, and Organic Search Results.
Being visible in all three of these areas of the search engine results page is valuable. But, current research studies estimate that Google Maps gets around 60%-75% of all new patient searches when the person searching is looking for a local business.
The upshot is this: invest time and resources into digital dental marketing, which optimizes your Google My Business listing. The result will be ranking higher in the Google maps section of search results.
Dental SEO Marketing Articles to Peruse:
- Essential Dental SEO Tips Backed By Research
- Local Search For Dentists in 2022 Getting To The Top Of Google Maps
- SEO For Dentists: How To Appear #1 on Search Results
- Ultimate Guide To Dental Marketing
- Dentist SEO: Top 6 Tips For Local Dental SEO
- Simple Dentist Search Engine Optimization For 2022
- [Webinar] How Patients Find And Choose You
Dental Marketing Related Industry Education
- Dental SEO Tips For 2022: Part 1
- Dental SEO Tips For 2022: Part 2
- How Cosmetic Dentists Can Appear #1 On Google
- Cosmetic Dental Marketing And Attracting New Patients
- Local Dental SEO Guide To Ranking On Google
- How to Write an SEO Dental Blog Post in 15 Minutes
- 5 Proven Ways To Increase Your Online Rankings
Your dental practice website needs to be a clear aesthetic representation of the culture of your office.
A modern mobile optimized website is what your potential patient is expecting and Indexsy can help you achieving. Your website should include the following:
- Mobile optimization
- Education for potential patients
- Secure online forms
- Webchat for immediate communication
- Security (HTTPS)
In terms of aesthetics, your dental website should represent the feeling of your office. How do you want your patients to feel when they come to your office? This means that the design needs to be up to date, the colors of your website should be aesthetically pleasing and most of all, you do not underestimate the importance of custom photography.
Your dental practice website should also have the functionality that Google requires so that it has the best opportunity of ranking high in search results. Here is a list of the most common mistakes:
- Is your website secure with the latest HTTPS updates?
- Is your website set up for mobile first indexing?
- Does your website meet Google’s speed requirements?
- Do you have any errors, broken links, dead end pages, incorrect metadata, etc?
- Does your website meet the minimum health score requirements?
Dental Website Marketing Information:
- What Should A Dental Website Include? What The Experts Know
- 5 Things Your Dental Website Must Have
- 6 Reasons To Add Webchat To Your Dental Website Today
- 7 Easy Marketing Ideas You Can Work on From Home
- FREE EBOOK: 7 Things A Dental Website Needs
- 3 Awesome Dental Office Websites
- Best Dental Website Designs: 7 Examples
Dental Reputation Management
An often overlooked dental marketing strategy is consistently improving your reputation management. We know that every dental office wants to be found online. Being found online is a dental SEO strategy. But what most dentists don’t think about as much as ranking is that once found how do you get the patient to call your office. Being found at the top of search engine results or in the Google map is only half the battle.
The second half of the battle is convincing the patient to call you rather than your competition. Google reviews are visible through your Google My Business account. This is the business listing for your practice in the Google database and it is displayed in the Google Maps section of search results.
Many consumer research studies have shown that when searching for a local business on Google more than 80% of those persons will use your review totals as part of their decision making process. Because of this you should remember that an integrated dental marketing strategy will help you be found and also chosen.
A recent survey found that the minimum reviews patients expect to see on your Google listing is 40 with an average star rating of 4.5. Without this you’ll likely not convince a potential patient to call your office.
Maybe you’re already there, if you are, then the next step is simple, get more Google reviews than your competition. Reviews are a strong social proof statement.
Dental Reputation Management Blogs:
An Overview of Dental Marketing Strategies
Today’s modern dental practice should use an integrated digital marketing approach. Bundling dental services together allows dental marketing agencies to coordinate marketing efforts between campaigns. Bundling helps to drop marketing costs for your practice.
Below we’ve discussed the strategies that modern dental practices are using to find new patients, and how they integrate with other dental strategies.
Digital Dental Social Media Marketing
Dental social media marketing is one of the least expensive ways to grow a dental practice. Dental social media is a powerful reputation management strategy, sends social signals to search engines, builds patient relationships, helps retain patients year over year, and increases online new patient referrals.
Success in dental practice social media marketing is directly related to the willingness for the dentist and the team to be involved in creating content to be published. The best content for social media dental marketing are photos and video content, posting on a regular basis.
When a practice is willing to be involved in dental social media advertising content creation is super simple. Social content should also be published to the practice’s website in order to keep the site fresh and updated. Leveraging new social content across social media platforms as well as a dental website, puts social media marketing at the heart of dental marketing.
Updates to websites, even as simple as updating photography not only helps the practice look current but it also sends signals to Google that your practice is concerned about it’s online presence.
Web Marketing for Dentists
Your dental practice website is the hub of your online presence. It must look great and convey a feeling of empathy, trust, and professionalism. By the time a potential patient has landed on your website, they’ve likely looked at your Google reviews, your Facebook page and Instagram account. The look and feel of your social media accounts should support an aesthetically pleasing dental web design.
Dental website marketing is a process of optimizing your website for higher conversations. This involves first making sure that your website can be found in the search engine indexes. There are many standard webs marketing practices backed by research that can guide you in your website optimization.
Website Marketing Articles To Peruse:
- 5 Ways to Reach New Dental Patients Using the Internet
- Powerful Digital Marketing For Dentists
- 5 Things Your Dental Website Must Have
- Dental Website Hosting – Am I Spending Too Much?
- What Makes A Great Dental Website
Website Marketing Industry Articles:
Dental Content Marketing
Content marketing is the strategy of creating and sharing online material that does not directly promote your dental practice, yet stimulates interest. The goal is to create content that is engaging and attracts attention, which will establish your practice as an authority in your feild.
The types of content that are created are photos, videos, emails, blogs, infographics, newsletters, press releases, podcasts, and other types of media. This content is then distributing in an effective way.
Dental practices sometimes find this difficult because dentistry is frankly not that interesting to most people. The best way to create engaging content is not to shift the focus of the content from dental information towards story telling. Create content that highlights the people in your office; you, your team, and your patients. When content is focused on the people in your office you’ll find that your practice becomes interesting to your community.
It may feel strange to you if this is your first time creating content for your dental practice. However, with these complimentary social media ideas and constant attention, you’ll quickly improve, resulting in a successful dental marketing content campaign.
Remember that it’s all about learning more about your target audience. Once understood what your target audience is mostly interested in , you can choose the best sort of material to produce. Also, it must be timely, instructive, and clear. These can assist you in gaining greater exposure for your dental services and pique the interest of potential patients ahead of your competition.
Dental Content Marketing Ideas:
- Dental Social Media That Works Insights From 7 Real Practices
- 26 Vital Dental Social Media Post Truths For Patient Growth
- The Best Dental Social Media Posts, Don’t Sell Dentistry
- 5 Important Dental Office Social Media Ideas That’ll Get You Swinging
- Dental Posts For Social Media That Attract New Patients
Dental Content Marketing Ideas From Around The Industry:
Dental SEO (Search Engine Optimization)
SEO for dentists is creating content that Google finds valuable, which in turn helps you rank higher in the search engines. There are hundreds, actually a thousand of tasks you can do to improve your rankings on search engines.
I’ve spoken to dentists over the past twelve years who want SEO to be quick and straightforward, but it just isn’t. It takes time to help a dental practice rank higher in Google search. But, once you’ve begun and have a few months behind you, it can be one of the least expensive ways to attract new patients online.
When you begin with dental marketing SEO, you need to decide where you want to rank in the search engine. There are primarily three ways that your dental practice can show up in Google’s search results.
The first is in the Google Ads section. These are the listings at the top of the page above the Google Map. About 10-20% of people click on these links. If you don’t have a Google Ads specialist on your team, you can hire a dental marketing company to help you set this up.
The second is Google Maps, which is your dental practices Google My Business listing. Most dental practices are not familiar with optimizing your Google My Business account to rank higher in Google Maps. The Google maps section of search results gets around 60-75% of search attention for local searches.
The Google maps section of search results is often referred to as local search because the results are physical businesses within the area searched.
The third place to show up in search results is called organic search. Organic results are the website listings below the map. Organic results are not localized results. What this means for a dental practice is that companies like Healthgrades, YELP and other national directories can compete in this section for placement. About 20-25% of patients will search for a dental practice in these rankings.
Some dentists will create a campaign that optimizes for all three sections. But, if you had to decide on optimization method, our recommendation is to start with Google maps (Local Dental SEO).
Dental SEO tips:
- The #1 Dentists SEO Jackpot! Google Maps Is A Must
- Local Search For Dentists In 2022: Getting To The Top Of Google Maps
- SEO for Dentists: How To Appear #1 On Google Search
- Essential Dental SEO Tips Backed By Research
- Simple Dentist Search Engine Optimization
- Dentist SEO: 6 Tips For Local Dental SEO
Dental SEO Industry Education:
Google Ads and Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
If you want to show up above the map in the Google Ads section, you need to set up a Google Ads account. Google Ads is a paid online advertising platform offered by Google. You’ve probably heard the phrase Google Adwords? Initially, this was the name but was rebranded in 2018 to Google Ads.
The way it works is essentially the same. When users search a keyword, they get their query results on a search engine results page (SERP). Those results can include a paid advertisement that targets that keyword.
You can see that all the advertisements are on the top of the SERP. They look nearly identical to organic search results except for the bolded “Ad” at the top of the post.
Google Ads can be very beneficial for dental practices because the results at the top of the page of the SERP are more visible. However, purchasing advertising on Google doesn’t necessarily ensure the top spot. After all, you’ll likely have a lot of other dental practices and dental marketing companies competing for the same keyword.
Google Ads operates under a pay-per-click (PPC) model. That means that you target a specific keyword on Google. Your bid is competing with others also targeting the same keyword. When you bid, you make the “maximum bid” you’re willing to bid.
For example, if your maximum bid is $5 and Google determines that your cost per click is $3, you get that ad placement! If they decide that it’s more than $5, you do not get the ad placement.
Google offers a variety of different campaign types that you can use. The most often campaigns for a dental practice are:
- Video / Youtube
Google Ads will quickly increase new patient phone calls, but you end up paying for it. The dental industry has heavy competition in Google Ads for patients clicks. Minimum budgets in respectable areas are typically above $1,500 per month and upwards of $3,000 a month for aggressive campaigns.
Because of the competition, a Google Ad campaign should have constant oversight to ensure that you’re not paying too much for certain keywords. Oversight will improve your CTR (Click Through Rate) and conversion rates.
Improving Dental Practice Reputation
You have a great-looking modern-designed website. You’re social media accounts look fantastic, and you’re posting every day. Your SEO campaign has you listed at the top of the search engines. But you’re still not getting more new patient phone calls. What gives?
Recent studies have shown that more than 75% of all potential patients investigating a dental practice will check out their Google reviews.
Industry studies have also shown that if a dental practice doesn’t have a minimum of 40 reviews with an average star rating of 4.5, consumers do not trust the review rating.
In our research, we’ve found that this is a bare minimum. Over the past few years, Google reviews software has inundated the industry. Review software help practices acquire online reviews. Usually, this is a text message sent to the patient asking for a review. Because of this technology, many of the top-ranking dentists have hundreds if not thousands of Google reviews.
Dentists should understand the patient buying cycle because the conversion rate of dental practice marketing hinges on the quality of the practices’ Google reviews. Simply put, a dentist needs more reviews than their competitors with a higher star rating.
The trick to getting more Google reviews is simple; you have to ask for the review.
Dental Reputation Management Training:
- Every Dentist Can Master This Review Strategy: Dental Review Tips
- Build A Strong Reputation For Your Dental Practice
- How To Get More Dental Reviews
- Let Your Dental Patients Build Trust For You
- How To Build Your Local Reputation With A Giveaway Collaboration
Dental Reputation Management Industry Education:
Dental Marketing Ideas You Can Implement Today
We are always creating super cool dental marketing ideas to help your practice stay on top of your online advertising. Please take advantage of the dental marketing resources below.
How To Make Your Dental Practice Shine Online
We help dentists shine online so that patients choose your dental practice rather than your competition. The strategy of convincing a patients to call your office is called building social proof. Social proof is a psychological phenomenon where patients allow the opinions and actions of others to influence their own decisions. The term was coined in Robert Cialdini’s book titled Influence.
We help create and improve social proof for dental practice’s through creative, engaging ideas and content strategies. Many of our ideas we offer for free in out Free Social Media Ideas page.
Over the past few years social media platforms have favored rich video content. Here is a great introduction on how to create effective dental marketing videos that can be shared to your dental facebook and Instagram page.
Dental Marketing: Where To Start When You Don’t Know Where To Start
The best dental marketing plan is not just about the tools, it’s about what is being posted and shared to those tools. And this is not just about social media, like Facebook and Instagram. You should be posting new content to your dental website, your Google My Business account and working on acquiring more Google reviews. So here is an easy dental marketing idea that will help you get started.
Dental Marketing Ideas That Help Grow Your Practice
We’ve found that most dental marketing managers get stuck on which strategies and what to do next. The best way to get started on your digital dental marketing is to look at what other practices are doing. This ebook highlights several successful dental practices.
Marketing Your Dental Practice on TikTok
TikTok is one of the most recent social media platforms, and a rising star. What’s great about the platform is the creative and super easy interface. They are constantly coming out with fun video ideas. Our dental marketing team recently created an eBook to help you get started on TikTok and Instagram Reels.
Social Media Engagement Strategies
When creating dental marketing content for social you want to focus on ideas that are not only interesting but that can get a reaction from your community on Facebook and Instagram. This is what we call engaging social media post ideas.
Dental Video Marketing: A Great Way To Advertise
Video content is shared much more than any other type of content on the internet. Facebook, Instagram as well as Google favor video content because it’s more entertaining and has the potential to deliver high quality information in a quick way.
One of the ways to enhance your digital marketing efforts is to start creating great dental video content and sharing that to your social media accounts and your website. Most website companies have the ability to feed social media content directly to your website. So, if you’re posting good content to your facebook page or Instagram account it can automatically show up on your website.
Dental Marketing Trends
Dental marketing trends are a great way to ride the wave of social media sharing and stay on top of your competition. Here are a few suggestions on trends that you can take advantage of to improve your online presence.
Facebook Marketing for Dentists
Facebook marketing is an essential component of your digital marketing strategy. Not only is it a great way to build a loyal following of patients, it also ranks high in Google search results and also provides a strong back link for your dental practice link strategy. When you post to Facebook you want to make sure that your caption is interesting and encourages comments. Facebook also provides an advertising option. A simple way to get started with Facebook ads is to start with boosting.
If you’re stuck at all with what to post and boost, take a look at this super simple step by step guide created by our awesome digital marketing team.
Instagram Dental Marketing
Potential patients under the age of 40 are likely on Instagram. If you’re not on Instagram you need to make it part of your dental marketing plan. Instagram is owned by Facebook and is one of the fastest growing social media platforms online. It’s also one of the best places to build a reputation of trustworthiness. Expert dental marketers recommend using instagram to build your reputation. If you’re not familiar with Instagram and don’t want to make any mistakes, check in with your hygienists and team members. It’s likely that they are very familiar with Instagram
You can also team up with Instagram influencers in your own community to promote your practice. Here are a few articles about Instagram influencers that you may find interesting. You never know, you might have a couple patients who are influencers.
Dental Marketing Ideas Using Monthly Campaigns
One great way to create a consistent dental practice marketing campaign is to piggy-back on the monthly campaigns related to events in the dental industry. During the month of April the dental industry celebrates Oral Cancer awareness month. This is talked about and supported by hundreds of dental practices and industry leaders throughout the country.
A simple way to incorporate this into your marketing campaign would be to run an Oral Cancer Awareness Campaign in the month of April. In February you could run a dental marketing campaign for Children’s Dental Health. If you’re a general dentist or a pediatric dental practice you should seriously think about running that campaign. Another great practice marketing idea would be to leverage holidays like valentines day.
Digital Dental Practice Marketing with Humanitarian Causes
It’s difficult for doctors and team members to promote themselves. Sometimes it comes off as bragging. No one feels comfortable getting up on a soap box and talking about how amazing they are. Well… there is that one guy, but for most practices the culture of the dental practice is one of humility and giving back. This does not mean that you can’t use opportunities where you give back to the community to promote your office in a non-braggy way.
Empathy in dental marketing goes a long way. If you and your team are involved in helping your community you should mention it in a non-braggy way.
Our dental marketing team created a great ebook that will give you some ideas on how to build your practice using a culture of giving.
Email Marketing Strategies for Dentists
Email has been around longer than most of us have been on this planet and its effectiveness continues to help grow dental practices. The toughest part of email marketing is the content creation. Very few dental practices have the time to write an email. Here’s a quick trick. Use your website blog as the genesis for your email marketing. This is another reason to have an integrated dental marketing solution. There is no reason to write a blog article and then also write a newsletter.
Choosing A Dental Marketing Agency
It’s tough to know who the best dental marketing companies are. There are a lot of choices out there. Here are a few suggestions as you consider your options.
First, find a dental marketing company that can manage all of your digital marketing together. It’s helpful to have the same company manage your dental website, social media marketing, SEO and Google Ads. There are several reasons for this but a big one is the ability to reduce your marketing fees through bundling.
Another reason to have one dental marketing company as you go to an agency is to increase productivity. It’s difficult when one agency runs your website and another runs your social media. The social media content can be shared across platforms easily if it’s managed by one company. When two companies are sharing the responsibility it creates a daisy chain and more work.
Second, look for an agency that has been around for a while. There are plenty of agencies in the dental industry that have been around for at least a decade. Any company that has been around that long should have a track record and lots of testimonials.
Do the same research that your patients are doing on you. Check out the agency’s reviews and look for testimonials. Online marketing for dentists is a competitive industry that demands efficiency and a stellar reputation.
And lastly, ask your colleagues who they use. The dental industry is small and word gets around. A great word of mouth recommendation is one of the best ways to vet a dental marketing firm.
Dental Websites and How To Find New Patients
Your dental website is one of the most important digital marketing assets that you have. But the purpose of dental websites have changed throughout the years. In the good-ol-days, like 15 years ago, websites were simply online brochures. Static images, lots of stock photography, copywriting that sounded like advertising. That type of a website won’t cut it in today’s world of consumers who can recognize a lack of genuineness.
Your dental website needs to have a few components that help it to stand out online. Read more about some of the ways to build your website in the dental website marketing articles below.